Sockathon! Day 1

Hiii!

Remember when I included this sneak peak in a past post:

cam02245

Well, the sneak peak was for a sock craft series! Yaaay!

cam02245edit

Basically I’ll have a few days in which I give you no-sew how-to’s to make clothing for your dolls–out of socks!

This idea actually formed when Madison posted a no-sew mini doll skirt from a sock, and so I went to the store a bought some of socks for mini skirts (as well as one for Clara’s leotard); then I was super inspired by the many no-sew sock things you can make, and wanted to do a little series! (So then I bought MORE socks XD )

By the end of this series you can have a complete, accessorized outfit for your dolls–all out of socks! …Minus the shoes 🙂

Series Schedule (Dates may change):

Day 1 (Today): Base outfit

Day 2 (Tomorrow): Accessories!

Day 3 (Sunday): Bonus Mini doll Halloween costume

All you need for these tutorials will be socks and scissors!

 

So today I will show you how to make a doll shirt and a doll skirt! The preferable socks to use should be stretchy, not too thin, and relatively large, if possible.

Let’s start with the shirt.

First, I recommend you pull your doll’s hair into a side ponytail, to keep it out of the way.

cam02390

Lay your sock on your doll, the open top on her neck, and find where you want the bottom of the shirt to be.

cam02391

Take it off of your doll and cut across where that spot is. I recommend cutting it larger then you think you want– you can always cut more off, but you can’t cut less!

cam02392

Now you are going to cut the rim of the sock like the above picture. (The front of the shirt is at the side, as you can see; Don’t cut that!)

cam02393

Cut the loose rim in the middle, so that you have two string-like things coming from the shirt. You may want to stretch them a bit.

cam02394

Pull the shirt on your doll, and pull the sock up higher on her chest. Take the loose ends and tie them around her neck.

Now you have a cute halter top!

 

Next, let’s make a pencil skirt! This one is super easy!

cam02396

Just lay the sock on your doll, open end on her waist, and find where you want the skirt to end. Cut straight across (again, I recommend cutting bigger that you originally think). Then you can try it on your doll.

cam02397

Now you have a cute and easy no-sew outfit for your doll! All from some simple socks!

cam02398

I also made this shirt, a longer version of the original. I paired it with some leggings I already had. I also cut the halter top “strings” so the space connecting them to the shirt was smaller.

How do you like the “Sockathon” so far?

Stay tuned for accessory how-to’s tomorrow!! 😀

blog-sign-off

12 thoughts on “Sockathon! Day 1

Leave a comment